The Peasant Dance by Pieter Bruegel the Elder

I’ve been a long time watching that painting reproduction when I was a chid. I thank you for celebrating by a poem that exhibition and talking about it.

my daily art display

Today for My Daily Art Display, I return, after too long an absence,  to one of my favourite painters, Pieter Bruegel the Elder.  I want to look at his painting the Peasant Dance which is not dated but thought to be a companion painting of the same size to Peasant Wedding, which he completed around 1567 and both of which illustrated peasant life.  This is an example of his later work which is characterised by his use of monumental Italianate figures.  This painting can be found in the Kunsthistoriches Museum Vienna.   There is a very similar painting by Bruegel in the Institute of Arts, Detroit which is entitled The Wedding Dance in the Open Air, the main difference between the two is that the Detroit version has more figures in it making it a more crowded scene. 

But I start with a poem by the American poet; William Carlos…

View original post 728 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

